Wednesday 16th November- Interview Preparation

Because many in this class, including myself have auditions for drama school coming up (Guildford School of Acting- 19th November and RADA- 21st November), the purpose of this session was to continue looking more at what to say in an interview and what questions are likely to appear. By the end of the session, I would have like to have recognised questions that may come up in an interview and have written answers to be able to prepare afterwards.

One by one, each member of the class got up and had a small mock interview with Lynn, the questions that were asked were:

  • Where do you see yourself in 5/10 years?
  • Who inspires you?
  • Why did you choose to apply to this school?

When it was my turn to go up, Lynn asked me these three questions and I felt prepared enough to answer each of them confidently after having time to write them down. I was able to speak about how I want a new challenge and move away from a quiet county to become more independent and explore. Especially for GSA, I can also talk about going to a drama school but still experience the University lifestyle.

Despite this, I know I can improve, for an interview, I need to improve on my physicality and my appearance, I need to learn to relax and sit in a position that is natural to me. Instead, I sat up straight and focused so much on my answer that I had no expression on my face. Therefore, I need to relax into the interview, create better eye contact and remember to smile at the panel when speaking to them. I need to remember while I am at the audition that I have paid for the fee so I need to take the moment, also, they are looking for people to join their school so I need to give them a reason why I should be that person.

Now that I have answers written down, I can look over them and memorise them, the only danger I need to remember is to not bullet point anything. Instead, I need to answer and develop it, something I also felt I could have done more of in this mock interview.

Leave a Reply

